What's in store

Pure, fragrant Alpine air, sunshine from dawn to dusk and clear views over the Matterhorn and the other proud four thousand metre peaks in the Valais, that's Bettmeralp in the heart of the Aletsch Arena in Switzerland.

The village in the winter

Bettmeralp is situated high above the Rhone valley on a sunny plateau at over 2,000 metres above sea level. The harmoniously developed village with 300 residents and 5,000 guest beds is the heart of the Aletsch Arena. The altitude and also state of the art snow-making equipment operated exclusively using natural resources guarantee snow from December to the end of April even in winters with not much snow. Guests and luggage are transported by snow groomers or skidoos. Otherwise the snow-covered roads belong to pedestrians and skiers. As what is unique to Bettmeralp: you can ski down from every single building.

Maria zum Schnee chapel

Bettmeralp's landmark is the Maria zum Schnee chapel built in 1697. The name recalls the legend of a wonderful snowfall in August that showed where the chapel was to be built. The chapel has been a listed building since 1979.

Ski slopes

104 perfectly prepared kilometres of ski slopes with 35 state of the art ski lifts invite you to carve or snowboard in the Aletsch Arena. Anyone who likes to take things a bit easier can stroll over winter hiking trails or have fun at après ski. The Bettmeralp ski resort is linked to the Riederalp and Fiescheralp. In the "Best Ski Resort 2012" ranking the Aletsch Arena was awarded a sensational third place by the way. Bettmerhof guests can strap on their skis right in front of the hotel and swish right down to the Wurzenbord or Schönbiel chairlifts!

Snowboarding

Besides a snow park there is also a halfpipe in Bettmeralp for all snowboarders looking for an adrenaline kick. 

Snow sports schools

Be it skiing, snowboarding, telemark skiing or cross-country skiing - the Bettmeralp Swiss Ski and Snowboard School (www.schneesportbettmeralp.ch) teaches all kinds of snow sports. Anyone who prefers exclusive private lessons will be well looked after at the Snow-Passion ski school(www.snow-passion.ch).

Après-Ski 

On the Bettmerhof sun terrace you can round off your day's skiing perfectly with fine liqueur coffees, wonderful cakes or a glass of fine wine. Anyone who likes parties and being sociable meets for après ski when the slopes close at Q-Stall, the Scappatina Bar, Albi's Mountain Rock Café or Dancing Alpfrieden. The Bachtla disco is the hot spot for young night owls.

Indoor pool at the Bachtla sports and leisure centre

You will not be bored at the newly renovated and wheelchair-accessible indoor pool with giant waterslide, whirlpool and children's paddling pool. 

Sports hall at the Bachtla sports and leisure centre

The sports hall can be used for tennis, volleyball, badminton, football, trampolining and other kinds of sports.

Ice skating

Blades instead of skis. The natural ice rink located just beneath the cable car to Bettmerhorn is usually open Sundays to Fridays from 2.00 - 9.00 p.m.

Panorama

L’air pur des Alpes, le soleil du matin au soir et une vue dégagée sur le Cervin ainsi que les autres sommets valaisans culminant à plus de quatre mille mètres: Bettmeralp se situe en plein cœur de la station Aletsch Arena en Suisse.

Le village en hiver

Bettmeralp surplombe la vallée du Rhône, sur une terrasse ensoleillée à plus de 2000 mètres d’altitude. Avec 5000 lits pour les visiteurs, le village harmonieux de 300 habitants représente le cœur de la station Aletsch Arena. La situation en altitude et les canons à neige dernière technologie, qui fonctionnent uniquement avec des ressources naturelles, offrent un enneigement garanti de décembre à fin avril, même lors des hivers peu neigeux. Les visiteurs et leurs bagages sont transportés en dameuse ou en motoneige. En outre, les routes recouvertes de neige sont à la disposition des piétons ou des skieurs. Car il n’y a qu’à Bettmeralp que l’on peut chausser ses skis directement devant le pas de sa porte.

Chapelle Maria zum Schnee

Bâtie en 1697, la chapelle Maria zum Schnee (Sainte Marie des Neiges) est l’emblème de Bettmeralp. Son nom évoque la légende d’une chute de neige miraculeuse en août ayant indiqué où ériger la chapelle. La chapelle est un monument protégé depuis 1979.

Pistes de ski

La station Aletsch Arena possède 104 kilomètres de pistes parfaitement damées et 35 remonte-pente pour les amateurs de carving et de snowboard. Les esprits plus tranquilles flâneront quant à eux sur les pittoresques sentiers de randonnée d’hiver ou s’amuseront lors des soirées après-ski. Le domaine skiable de Bettmeralp est relié à Riederalp et Fiescheralp. La station Aletsch Arena a d’ailleurs décroché la troisième place du classement «Best Ski Resort 2012». Les hôtes du Bettmerhof chaussent leurs skis devant l’hôtel et descendent directement au télésiège Wurzenbord ou Schönbiel!

Snowboard

Pour tous les snowboardeurs à la recherche de sensations fortes: la station de Bettmeralp possède un snowpark et un half-pipe. 

Ecoles de sport de neige

Ski, snowboard, télémark ou ski de fond: l’école suisse de ski et de snowboard Bettmeralp (www.schneesportbettmeralp.ch) permet d’apprendre tous les sports de neige. Si vous préférez des cours privés, adressez-vous à l’école de ski Snow Passion (www.snow-passion.ch).

Après-ski 

La terrasse ensoleillée du Bettmerhof est idéale pour terminer une journée de ski en dégustant un délicieux café avec alcool, un gâteau succulent ou un bon verre de vin. Fête et convivialité attendent les skieurs au Q-Stall, au bar Scappatina, à l’Albi’s Mountain Rock Café ou au Dancing Alpfrieden après la fermeture des pistes. La discothèque Bachtla est le haut-lieu des jeunes fêtards nocturnes.

Piscine couverte au centre de sport et de loisirs Bachtla

Fraîchement rénovée et adaptée aux personnes handicapées, la piscine couverte est un lieu de divertissement pour tous avec son toboggan géant, son jacuzzi et sa pataugeoire. 

Salle de sport au centre de sport et de loisirs Bachtla

La salle de sport peut être utilisée pour faire du tennis, volley-ball, badminton, football, trampoline et autres sports.

Patin à glace

Les patins au lieu des skis. Située sous la télécabine menant au Bettmerhorn, la patinoire naturelle est généralement ouverte du dimanche au vendredi, de 14 heures à 21 heures.