What's in store

Pure, fragrant Alpine air, sunshine from dawn to dusk and clear views over the Matterhorn and the other proud four thousand metre peaks in the Valais, that's Bettmeralp in the heart of the Aletsch Arena in Switzerland.

The village in the winter

Bettmeralp is situated high above the Rhone valley on a sunny plateau at over 2,000 metres above sea level. The harmoniously developed village with 300 residents and 5,000 guest beds is the heart of the Aletsch Arena. The altitude and also state of the art snow-making equipment operated exclusively using natural resources guarantee snow from December to the end of April even in winters with not much snow. Guests and luggage are transported by snow groomers or skidoos. Otherwise the snow-covered roads belong to pedestrians and skiers. As what is unique to Bettmeralp: you can ski down from every single building.

Maria zum Schnee chapel

Bettmeralp's landmark is the Maria zum Schnee chapel built in 1697. The name recalls the legend of a wonderful snowfall in August that showed where the chapel was to be built. The chapel has been a listed building since 1979.

Ski slopes

104 perfectly prepared kilometres of ski slopes with 35 state of the art ski lifts invite you to carve or snowboard in the Aletsch Arena. Anyone who likes to take things a bit easier can stroll over winter hiking trails or have fun at après ski. The Bettmeralp ski resort is linked to the Riederalp and Fiescheralp. In the "Best Ski Resort 2012" ranking the Aletsch Arena was awarded a sensational third place by the way. Bettmerhof guests can strap on their skis right in front of the hotel and swish right down to the Wurzenbord or Schönbiel chairlifts!

Snowboarding

Besides a snow park there is also a halfpipe in Bettmeralp for all snowboarders looking for an adrenaline kick. 

Snow sports schools

Be it skiing, snowboarding, telemark skiing or cross-country skiing - the Bettmeralp Swiss Ski and Snowboard School (www.schneesportbettmeralp.ch) teaches all kinds of snow sports. Anyone who prefers exclusive private lessons will be well looked after at the Snow-Passion ski school(www.snow-passion.ch).

Après-Ski 

On the Bettmerhof sun terrace you can round off your day's skiing perfectly with fine liqueur coffees, wonderful cakes or a glass of fine wine. Anyone who likes parties and being sociable meets for après ski when the slopes close at Q-Stall, the Scappatina Bar, Albi's Mountain Rock Café or Dancing Alpfrieden. The Bachtla disco is the hot spot for young night owls.

Indoor pool at the Bachtla sports and leisure centre

You will not be bored at the newly renovated and wheelchair-accessible indoor pool with giant waterslide, whirlpool and children's paddling pool. 

Sports hall at the Bachtla sports and leisure centre

The sports hall can be used for tennis, volleyball, badminton, football, trampolining and other kinds of sports.

Ice skating

Blades instead of skis. The natural ice rink located just beneath the cable car to Bettmerhorn is usually open Sundays to Fridays from 2.00 - 9.00 p.m.

 

Discover the sunny Bettmeralp plateau and the UNESCO World Heritage Site of the Swiss Alps Jungfrau-Aletsch in the heart of the Aletsch Arena. Deeply inhale the pure mountain air with a view over the Valais and Bernese Alps. Relax and feel liberated. Combine nature, adventure and sport without any traffic or hectic at all. Be it as a couple or "en famille", happiness is guaranteed!

Bettmeralp – your holiday home

Bettmeralp is situated at 1,950 metres high up on a south-facing sunny plateau in the heart of the Aletsch Arena on the Great Aletsch Glacier. Its little wooden houses (chalets) and the Maria zum Schnee chapel are typical of the village. With the cable car you conveniently glide up from the valley to the mountain in 6 minutes and enjoy the pure air and tranquillity. It is in fact a place of energy par excellence. It has 300 permanent residents and offers 5,000 guest beds. In the east on a 2,200 metre high hill is the Fiescheralp with the region's most stunning viewing point, the Eggishorn. In the west at the same altitude is the Riederalp which can be reached in half an hour if walking or by electric bus in 10 minutes. It scores with its 9-hole golf course and Pro Natura Zentrum Aletsch.

A hiking paradise for nature lovers – both for those who like to take things more leisurely and the sporty

317 km of hiking trails, themed trails, via ferratas and the Bettmerhorn, Eggishorn and Moosfluh viewing points guarantee an adventurous stay in the Aletsch region. Well signposted hiking trails for both the young and old lead past restaurants, mountain inns, campfires, playgrounds and picnic areas.

The natural wonder of the Aletsch Glacier - liberating, invigorating, impressive, simply phenomenal

With a mountain guide and like-minded people you climb up the 23 km long Aletsch Glacier (6 hour hike) or hike over the suspended bridge at the glacier snout through the Aletsch Forest conservation area towards Bettmeralp (5 hours). The popular "Lake Märjelensee hike" (4-5 hours) takes you from the Bettmerhorn cable car top station along the glacier towards Lake Märjelensee around the Eggishorn and back up the south side of the Rhone valley towards the Bettmeralp. You experience a real adrenaline rush when you hike on the UNESCO trail between the Bettmerhorn and Eggishorn high above the longest ice stream in the Alps (3 hours).

Cool off and relax at Lake Bettmersee

"Sunbathe" in the tempered spring water at the idyllically situated Lake Bettmersee with stunning view over the Mischabel and Matterhorn. No joke! Lake Bettmersee invites you to swim, take out a pedalo, fish, barbecue and completely chill out at roughly 18° Celsius in high summer. The easy circular walk around Lake Bettmersee takes roughly quarter of an hour and can be mastered by parents with a buggy and disabled people in a wheelchair. Benches invite you to rest for a while and you can also enjoy a little snack at Bootshüsi.

Families welcome

The Aletsch Arena is a family paradise. This is verified by the "Families welcome" seal of quality. There is excitement, fun and adventure in store for every age. With the Bachtla sports centre, Lake Bettmersee, mini golf, playgrounds with bouncy castles, mountain bike routes, the Baschweri rope park, Bettmerhorn ice world etc. the Bettmeralp impresses with its child-friendly infrastructure. Anyone who would like to spend their holiday in the company of other children can experience unforgettable adventures as part of the Fox programme.

Panorama

L’air pur des Alpes, le soleil du matin au soir et une vue dégagée sur le Cervin ainsi que les autres sommets valaisans culminant à plus de quatre mille mètres: Bettmeralp se situe en plein cœur de la station Aletsch Arena en Suisse.

Le village en hiver

Bettmeralp surplombe la vallée du Rhône, sur une terrasse ensoleillée à plus de 2000 mètres d’altitude. Avec 5000 lits pour les visiteurs, le village harmonieux de 300 habitants représente le cœur de la station Aletsch Arena. La situation en altitude et les canons à neige dernière technologie, qui fonctionnent uniquement avec des ressources naturelles, offrent un enneigement garanti de décembre à fin avril, même lors des hivers peu neigeux. Les visiteurs et leurs bagages sont transportés en dameuse ou en motoneige. En outre, les routes recouvertes de neige sont à la disposition des piétons ou des skieurs. Car il n’y a qu’à Bettmeralp que l’on peut chausser ses skis directement devant le pas de sa porte.

Chapelle Maria zum Schnee

Bâtie en 1697, la chapelle Maria zum Schnee (Sainte Marie des Neiges) est l’emblème de Bettmeralp. Son nom évoque la légende d’une chute de neige miraculeuse en août ayant indiqué où ériger la chapelle. La chapelle est un monument protégé depuis 1979.

Pistes de ski

La station Aletsch Arena possède 104 kilomètres de pistes parfaitement damées et 35 remonte-pente pour les amateurs de carving et de snowboard. Les esprits plus tranquilles flâneront quant à eux sur les pittoresques sentiers de randonnée d’hiver ou s’amuseront lors des soirées après-ski. Le domaine skiable de Bettmeralp est relié à Riederalp et Fiescheralp. La station Aletsch Arena a d’ailleurs décroché la troisième place du classement «Best Ski Resort 2012». Les hôtes du Bettmerhof chaussent leurs skis devant l’hôtel et descendent directement au télésiège Wurzenbord ou Schönbiel!

Snowboard

Pour tous les snowboardeurs à la recherche de sensations fortes: la station de Bettmeralp possède un snowpark et un half-pipe. 

Ecoles de sport de neige

Ski, snowboard, télémark ou ski de fond: l’école suisse de ski et de snowboard Bettmeralp (www.schneesportbettmeralp.ch) permet d’apprendre tous les sports de neige. Si vous préférez des cours privés, adressez-vous à l’école de ski Snow Passion (www.snow-passion.ch).

Après-ski 

La terrasse ensoleillée du Bettmerhof est idéale pour terminer une journée de ski en dégustant un délicieux café avec alcool, un gâteau succulent ou un bon verre de vin. Fête et convivialité attendent les skieurs au Q-Stall, au bar Scappatina, à l’Albi’s Mountain Rock Café ou au Dancing Alpfrieden après la fermeture des pistes. La discothèque Bachtla est le haut-lieu des jeunes fêtards nocturnes.

Piscine couverte au centre de sport et de loisirs Bachtla

Fraîchement rénovée et adaptée aux personnes handicapées, la piscine couverte est un lieu de divertissement pour tous avec son toboggan géant, son jacuzzi et sa pataugeoire. 

Salle de sport au centre de sport et de loisirs Bachtla

La salle de sport peut être utilisée pour faire du tennis, volley-ball, badminton, football, trampoline et autres sports.

Patin à glace

Les patins au lieu des skis. Située sous la télécabine menant au Bettmerhorn, la patinoire naturelle est généralement ouverte du dimanche au vendredi, de 14 heures à 21 heures.

 

Découvrez le plateau ensoleillé de Bettmeralp et le site Alpes suisses Jungfrau-Aletsch, inscrit au patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO, en plein cœur de la station Aletsch Arena. Respirez profondément l’air pur de la montagne tout en observant les Alpes valaisannes et bernoises. Détendez-vous et faites le vide. Conjuguez nature, aventure et sport à l’écart du trafic et de l’agitation. En couple ou en famille: sensations de bonheur garanties!

Le Bettmeralp: votre lieu de villégiature

Le Bettmeralp se situe à 1950 mètres d’altitude sur un plateau ensoleillé orienté vers le Sud, en plein cœur de la station Aletsch Arena près du grand glacier d’Aletsch.  Sa physionomie est marquée par de petites maisons pittoresques en bois (chalets) et par la chapelle Maria zum Schnee (Sainte Marie des Neiges). Le téléphérique vous transporte confortablement de la vallée à l’alpage en 6 minutes tout en vous offrant air pur et tranquillité. Un lieu idéal pour se ressourcer. Le village compte 300 habitants permanents et offre 5000 lits pour les visiteurs. A l’Est, sur une éminence de 2200 mètres se trouve Fiescheralp avec le plus beau point de vue de la région, l’Eggishorn. A l’Ouest, Riederalp, accessible en une heure et demie de marche ou 10 minutes en bus électrique, se dresse à la même hauteur. On y trouve un parcours de golf 9 trous ainsi que le Pro Natura Zentrum Aletsch.

Le paradis de la randonnée pour les amateurs de nature, plus ou moins sportifs

317 km de sentiers de randonnée, les parcours thématiques, les vias ferratas et les points de vue Bettmerhorn, Eggishorn et Moosfluh garantissent un séjour enrichissant. Restaurants, cabanes, foyers, aires de jeu et lieux de pique-nique jonchent les sentiers de randonnée balisés pour les grands et les petits.

Le glacier d’Aletsch, une merveille naturelle: libérateur, rafraîchissant, spectaculaire, tout simplement phénoménal

En compagnie d’un guide de montagne et d’autres amateurs de randonnée, vous entreprendrez l’ascension du glacier d’Aletsch long de 23 km (6 h de marche) ou vous promènerez à travers la réserve naturelle Aletschwald en direction de Bettmeralp en franchissant le pont suspendu situé devant le front du glacier (5 h). Bien fréquentée, la randonnée «Märjelenseewanderung» (4 à 5 h) vous conduira de la station de télécabine supérieure vers le lac Märjelensee le long du glacier en contournant l’Eggishorn puis vous fera retourner à Bettmeralp au sud de la vallée du Rhône. Vivez des sensations fortes le temps d’une randonnée sur le sentier de l’UNESCO entre Bettmerhorn et l’Eggishorn en gravissant le plus long fleuve de glace des Alpes (3 h).

Fraîcheur et détente au lac Bettmersee

Prenez un bain de soleil dans l’eau de source tempérée du magnifique lac Bettmersee tout en profitant de la vue splendide sur les Mischabel et le Cervin. Ce n’est pas une plaisanterie! En plein été à une température avoisinant les 18°Celsius, le lac Bettmersee est un lieu idéal pour se baigner, faire du pédalo, de la pêche, des grillades et pour se relaxer. La tranquille promenade autour du lac Bettmersee dure environ un quart d’heure et convient aussi bien aux familles avec poussette qu’aux personnes en fauteuil roulant. Des bancs sont installés pour se reposer et le snack Bootshüsi offre de quoi faire un petit casse-croûte.

Familles bienvenues

La station Aletsch Arena est un paradis pour les familles. Une qualité attestée par le label «Familles bienvenues». Action, jeu et aventure y sont proposés pour tous les âges. Avec le centre sportif Bachtla, le lac Bettmersee, le parcours de mini-golf, les aires de jeu avec château gonflable, les pistes de VTT, le parc d’aventure Baschweri, l’exposition Eiswelt Bettmerhorn, etc., le Bettmeralp offre une infrastructure adaptée aux enfants. Le programme Fox propose de vivre des aventures inoubliables en compagnie d’autres enfants.